Your Gun Crime Attorney Johnson City TN

How CDR Law Can Help With Your Theft Crime Charges

In Tennessee, our theft lawyer Johnson City TN can help you avoid theft charges and other types of crimes. Because we have dealt with similar circumstances in the past, you can feel confident that our firm has the necessary knowledge to fight theft allegations under Tennessee state law. We will do everything we can to assist you avoid being sentenced to a felony conviction and sentence, and we’ll work hard to ensure that you obtain the finest possible result in your situation.

Theft occurs when a person takes control of another person’s property without permission and intends to convert it to their own use. For example, if one individual returned something that had been given to them by another. It is theft under general Tennessee law if this happens. Even if they haven’t committed a crime, most folks have stolen at some time in their life. When someone borrows something from you and doesn’t return it, or when someone takes residence in a rental property without permission from the owner but fails to pay any rent are examples of this.

Free Case Consultation

Fill out the form below to receive your Free Case Consultation. We will be in contact within 24 hours of your submission.

CDR Law Attorneys Handle Petit Theft Johnson City TN Charges

In Tennessee, it is not necessary for a theft conviction to include the use of force or stealth. In Tennessee, stealing someone else’s belongings without permission qualifies as petit theft. Shoplifting and theft by deception are two types of offense in TN that may lead to this sort of criminal charge. When a person leaves a store after failing to pay for items but then returns them or makes good on the money owed for their purchase price, they are shoplifting. When a person fraudulently deceives another individual into giving up their goods with the intent of not paying the debt, it’s known as theft by deceit. The most typical example of this is when a person charges something to someone else’s account and then refuses to pay it, leaving the injured party with the task of cleaning up after them.

There are several defenses that may be used in the event of a theft allegation. The defense by compulsion is one of them, which refers to someone being forced to commit burglary or any other unlawful act under some form of duress or pressure. If you didn’t realize what you were doing was wrong at the time, you might argue lack of knowledge as a defense. Finally, there may be situations in which even if one steals, it would not be a crime since to the circumstances surrounding its commission, resulting in a lesser level of guilt. If you’re sentenced for petit theft (less than $1,000 worth of goods) and theft crimes, this might be considered a mitigating factor.

We will look at all aspects of the case, including any evidence against you, and construct a powerful defense on your behalf if you choose CDR Law to represent you. The first goal is to avoid our client going to jail or prison and maintaining their record clean. We realize that this circumstance may be stressful for you, therefore we want to work with you as a friend during these trying times. Call us now at (423) 441-6900 or go to our website for a free consultation and legal advise from an East Tennessee criminal defense lawyer who understands how difficult this situation is.

Frequently Asked Questions

In Tennessee, the penalties for theft are fines that depend on the type and amount of property stolen. In all cases, a misdemeanor charge will carry a minimum $50 fine; felony charges may result in up to one year imprisonment and maximum $3,000 in fines.

If you steal less than $500 in goods or cash in Tennessee, the offenses is classified as a Class A misdemeanor and carries with it a potential sentence of not more than 11 months and 29 days in jail; this class has an associated fine bond of at least $50 but not more than $2,500. Felony theft (stealing goods worth more than 500 dollars) is typically classified as such if it’s committed multiple times or by someone with certain convictions, such as a prior felony charge or if the goods in question are a firearm.

Petit theft is a misdemeanor offense in Tennessee punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.

Petit Theft, as defined by TN Code 39-14-103, refers to theft of property or services valued at less than $1000 from the person of another or from the premises which one knows without having been given consent and with intent to deprive the other permanently of its use.
Petit Theft can be either Class A (if stolen item valued less than $200) or Class B (if stolen item is worth over $200). Penalties for each increase if offender has two previous convictions for theft; third conviction merits six month minimum mandatory sentence and offender must serve 85% before eligibility for discretionary release.

If the value of what you took is less than $1,000 and you have never been convicted of a felony, your sentence is a Class A misdemeanor. You could be fined up to $2,500 or serve a sentence that includes a year in jail or both. If the property was worth more than $1,000 but less than $10,000 you will face a Class C felony with penalties including 3-6 years in prison. I would recommend consulting an attorney as well as contacting Tennessee State Law Enforcement for specific questions on the location where the crime was committed to see how they prosecute these crimes.

Fill Out the Form Below and Get a

Free Consultation